A season of plenty

DSC_0191

These days my  breath is foggy during my morning coffee with cream. The creaky wood floors in our home chill my bare feet now that the air has dipped into the 50’s. I love the autumn. I am eating my purple cabbage with farm fresh beef and homegrown beets and carrots. My kids zip up yellow and red sweatshirts and slip on purple Wellingtons over stripped socks.

Today we visited the library to hear pumpkin stories and pick up another bag full of children’s books. Soon these colors of orange, red and yellow will all die and turn to brown and black. The dead brown will cover the landscape and I will sit inside my chilly house wishing we had a fire to rub my hands next to.

Recently I ordered a book for my daughter’s birthday (which is tomorrow) and I am thinking of ordering another for myself. I love the poetic description of colour in each changing of the seasons. It reminds me to love the changes of the year even while living in Wisconsin where the winters weigh heavy.

My garden will soon die leaving us to buy our vegetables at the store (instead of picking them from our back yard) and our family will hibernate inside for the next five to six months. For now I’ll juice the apples from our tree and throw our massive butternut squash into a lovely curry. We can think about Winter another day. Enjoy the colours of autumn.

This is what I’m enjoying today….

DSC_0986

Leaf-hair masks

DSC_0992

Farm fresh milk with cream on top

 

Dirty garden carrots

Dirty garden carrots

 

 

Our pumpkins are turning orange

Our pumpkins are turning orange

 

 

My dusty gardening boots

My dusty gardening boots

 

 

Apples sitting ready to be juiced

Apples sitting ready to be juiced

 

 

I still have tons of peppers waiting to invade a fresh mozza pizza

I still have tons of peppers waiting to invade a fresh mozza pizza

 

3 thoughts on “A season of plenty

  1. Ah yes, the joy of fall before the crazy mid-west winter hits! Fall is so fun! We hit the pumpkin patch today – my first pumpkin patch experience – so fun! I love that pic of Olivier with the leaves – sooooooo cool!

Leave a Reply

