Natural antibiotics

Over the past few weeks I’ve had a cold I couldn’t shake that eventually turned into a sinus infection. I use to get sinus infections at least once a month before getting my impacted wisdom teeth pulled about 12 years ago. For the most part the only way to get rid of a sinus infection is to go to the doctor and get on antibiotics. I have many issues with antibiotics even though I believe they can be life saving. I was on them every day for about five years for acne (Which, looking back wasn’t even all that bad. But when you’re 13 a pimple means you can’t face your entire middle school class). The 80’s were the antibiotic decade in the same way the 90’s were the Prozac decade.

Needless to say antibiotics messed up my entire system, leaving me with serious amounts of ‘bad’ bacteria that overtook my gut; an issue I still struggle with today. I had to be off of sugar, diary, caffeine and alcohol for nearly a year because of issues with Candida. I’d like to touch on this more for the ladies so I didn’t throw this post onto Facebook. Candida is an overgrowth of yeast in the system (ya’ll know what I’m talkin’ about) and the symptoms can cause a lot of problems from chronic yeast infections (again, ya’ll know what I mean), severe fatigue, memory loss, constipation, or constant immune system break down: sick all the time! A lot of doctors still don’t believe in Candida so they will likely put you on Dyflucan if you say you struggle with yeast issues.

Well, sugar feeds yeast so when I went off of sugar completely (no fruit, honey, refined sugar…not a grain of it) I actually felt and noticed a difference. Proving that my issue was indeed Candida. If you have a lot of these symptoms you might want to read more on Candida. The first step in getting rid of it is healing up the gut lining (not an easy task). If I were to go into great detail about how to cure Candida it would take many pages on a blog so I’ll just thow up some helps to look at. This has been a huge hurdle for me in finding my healthiest self (a goal I am committed to) because I really love sweets, coffee and having wine with a meal (not so much these days as I’m in the family way). I come across female friends all the time that explain symptoms to me which make me believe they too are struggling with Candida and a lot of it is women in my age range who were also given antibiotics like candy when they were young.

Now onto a suggestion if you are indeed sick and in need of instant recovery but hesitant in taking those little white pills. The good news is that antibiotics can save lives but we don’t need to take them for every infection that comes along. My preferred antibiotic is….wait for it… raw garlic! This is how I learned to get rid of my reoccurring sinus infections years ago and it worked every time. As soon as my mucus turned green or yellow, out came the cloves. What to do if you are also dealing with yeast infections? Garlic! Raw! It can even be inserted. Yep, I just wrote that! Just peel and wrap the clove in some gauze and you know what to do with the rest.

Also, the best time to take garlic is before you go to bed so that your breath is not stinky in the morning. And it won’t be. I swear by it. Just peel a whole clove (not a whole bulb!!!) , chop it like you’re going to cook with it and swallow it with water. Don’t take on an empty stomach or it could burn. This is the most amazing antibiotic there is and it can get rid of tons of infections. Plus, it’s so very inexpensive. PS- I’m not a doctor or a certified natural physician and garlic won’t cure life threatening ailments! Use it for the small stuff and stay out of the doctor’s office. If you have random questions do post them. I will reply.

Here’s to the whole of life!

Further reading on Candida: Remember, baby steps. If you can’t do all of these helps at once, and you likely will get overwhelmed after you read all of this, just cut out junk food to start, or sugar, and see if it makes a difference. Take some garlic at night for a week.  Then on to bigger helps.

Candida symptoms  http://www.holistichelp.net/candida.html   http://www.candidasymptoms.net/

Candida diet   http://www.everydiet.org/diet/candida-diet

More definitions   http://www.candidafree.net/?gclid=CL204N-R-p8CFRUhDQodzE4CbA

Benefits of raw garlic   http://www.greenze.com/2007/08/28/17-benefits-of-organic-raw-garlic-how-it-can-improve-your-health/

Raw garlic yeast cure  http://www.midwiferytoday.com/articles/garlic.asp

Dangers of antibiotics  http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art46504.asp

For more posts like this subscribe to Tea and Chopsticks

17 thoughts on “Natural antibiotics

  1. I am soooo happy foryou Yay Baby number three! Hee Hee Hee I was just praying fo ryou the other day when are you due ?!?? Ok Great post about candida and garlic, firm beleiver here too in the goods of garlic but i got a little distracted with the baby announcement. hugs to you- svea

  2. Yes, I have totally done the garlic thing up the bajingo. I’ve found what helps too is to make small incisions into it so that more of the good garlicy stuff gets out! Here’s to garlic!

  3. Ugg, I was on Ortho tricycline for a year as birth control when we were first married. That was also the first year we were in Kosovo and also Albania. Needless to say it wrecked my stomach big time. I didn’t realize till much later that there was antibiotics in the birth control!!! Those countries were not ones to visit at that time if you had no good bacteria in your gut. I have had to work at rebuilding it as well and I think there are still some things that need to be worked out. Couldn’t agree more on the garlic…great post!

  4. I had heard about the benefits of raw garlic for thinning the blood, but I didn’t know about it being a natural antibiotic! Thank you for this post.

    I have recently come across your blog and am enjoying reading through the archives!

    God Bless,
    Juliana

  5. I forgot to mention that the worst case of yeast infection I’ve ever had was after taking a bout of antibiotics for an infected bee sting. Makes me never want to take antibiotics again.

  6. Amy. Thanks for the comment. I’ve been on Wormwood too. Not too shabby for healing somethings up. Although women who are pregnant or nursing should NOT take Wormwood (for any readers out there). Acidophilus is wonderful too. Most store bought stuff isn’t powerful enough and garlic actually does kill fungus that is destroying intestinal flora. I think taken together they are a great combo. These are great tips. Keep them coming, everyone!

  7. I’ve totally done the garlic for yeast infections (by the way, attaching a string of dental floss can help with removal). It’s good for us to share these things. I also take raw garlic anytime I’m sick. I swallow it with water, add a lot to meals, and throw it on some bread with butter.
    I had to have antibiotics at Harper’s birth because I was positive for the strep stuff. The midwife suggested I take Florajen3. It’s acidophilus, bifidum, and longdum. She said that anytime you need to take antibiotics it’s good to start this stuff as well and continuing taking it when your done with the antibiotics to help protect the good bacteria.

  8. to be honest I have never had to deal with a yeast infection like you described so I never used garlic like that. I have heard about using it for colds and such. I will remember to do it the next time a cold strikes me with that kind of force. I love the netty pot for colds and I have been able to see my sinus’s respond.

    • Yes. Hurray for the neti pot. That has also saved me a ton of times. I can’t even tell you how much I’ve battled ‘bad’ bacteria. I have read about this for years so I know so many tricks. You’re lucky you haven’t had to go through that. Ugh!

  9. Pingback: Tea and Chopsticks

Leave a Reply

