Getting Old(er)

After I hit 30 I noticed that certain things began to change. When I was 29 I was probably in the best shape of my life. I was getting married so I did what most people do….worked out a lot right before the wedding day. I was going to Hawaii for honeymoon and also going to be ‘neked’ in front of the husband for the first time so I wanted to look all splendid and stuff. I look back at photos of our honeymoon and think ,”Dang! I was pretty hot!”

I got pregnant four months after being married so watching my body shift and morph into a house for a baby was very surreal. I loved the preggy look but it was strange to share my space with another human. I’ve had two more since then and I’m closer to 40 than I am to 30. I’ve noticed a lot of changes since I was married and some of them are very profound. Some are pleasant, some are welcomed, some are very unpleasant and some just are. I want to see a bumber sticker that reads, “Cellulite happens” but I’m sure no one is brave enough to stick it to their car. It’s a lot more daring than throwing up “Obama ’08” or “I heart Pat Buchanan”

I find that there are areas that I buy into culture like the next shmuck when it comes to body image. This culture idolizes youth in a variety of ways but the young body is probably the most pervasive. Every check out stand I go to (except Trader Joe’s) I find magazines shaming female celebrities who dare to go out to a public beach with saggy thighs. There are also times where I really don’t care what is happening to me as I age. I like my grey hair and my wrinkles. I dye the grey sometimes otherwise I’d rockin’ the bride of Frankenstein look. It’s only greys on the sides. I also like my crows feet and laugh lines. I like my narrow face and the fact that I don’t look like I’m 25 anymore. I think there’s a certain dignity in getting older and watching things change.

The other areas that are hard to accept are back problems and various pains through the body. It seems like you hit 30 and your body turns on you. It slows down it’s metabolism so you just look at food and gain weight. Seriously, what is with that? Seems as you get older you actually need energy to keep yourself from atrophying. I have also noticed how my teeth are failing me. After nursing three babies they are really not as good as they should be. Now that I’ve had so much work done on my mouth I’m thinking of my teeth everyday. I think of how much sugar I eat and how it’s effecting my teeth. I notice other’s teeth like some sort of obsession. Just the other day an old man, maybe in his 80’s, was talking to me and I was noticing he had his original teeth….and, they looked great! Great for being in his 80’s. I can’t believe how much I’m noticing teeth now that mine are becoming weaker and weaker.

I don’t lament the loosening of my skin or the changing of my body as much as I’ve actually been heartbroken thinking of more pain, sickness and decay as I get older. The beauty of age is wisdom, peace and experience. I want to be one of those old women who smile a lot and drive so slow that everyone behind them gets pissy. Those slow drivers have all the time in the world to take it easy. They’ve rushed their whole lives, it’s time to rest and enjoy now. Ah, peace! Come to me in my old age! But can you please just leave my teeth in tact?

If there is one piece of advice I could give the youth today I would tell them…. Floss!

9 thoughts on “Getting Old(er)

  1. Im with u in this. I only have one and I started noticing my teeth are not the same…as other things.
    I bought a dye for my grey hairs ( also in my sides) but haven’t got around it yet. It bothers me when people starts noticing those things in me! Hey, are you not gonna do anything about your hair?? is getting very grey !:( back off people!
    good piece of advise there, I need to floss more!

  2. You are right in! I noticed those same things at 40, but just wait till you are closer to 50. I am not 50 yet but closer to it than 40. All the things you mention multiplied…

    I agree young woman and men of today…FLOSS!

    • Mary, you crack me up. I even work out a lot and eat really well. Seems like I’m just putting off the inevitable though. Maybe I should just head for the baked goods and pasta and eat as much chocolate as I wish. Probably wouldn’t make it any better but at least I’d enjoy my sugar rush more.

  3. Hello Tracie,
    Thank you so much for sharing really important and deep thoughts as well as beautiful pictures throughout all of your posts I’ve been reading for quite some time (found this site by coincidence :)). It is always good to know that there are many people in this world who can appreciate the essential and beautiful in life.
    Otro mundo es posible!
    Sandrine from Germany

  4. I just don’t get the weird things. Like acid reflux! I used to be able to eat pepporoni/sausage/garlic pizza like a champ. then follow it up with soda and icecream. Now…just thinking about eating that makes me ill.

    I used to wonder why my parents didn’t want to eat fastfood all the time. The idea of a ‘burger and fries’ would make them cringe! I am now that parent. Eek.

    I agree with the flossing! it’s easy controllable and healthy.

    • I know. I use to be able to throw back an entire bag of chips (a practice I now find super unhealthy) and not gain an ounce. I wouldn’t want to do that now but I’m also stunned by the fact that I COULDN’T do that now, even if I wanted to. Eesh!

Leave a Reply

