Things are coming together at the house. My carpal tunnel is kicking into high gear these days since I’ve been painting like a trooper. “Show me paint-a-fence”. I often feel the need to throw in 80’s movie quotes when my sanity is hitting a low. Our friend Gabe helped us move and then Josh came over to look at our plumbing. We have a few places where the hot water comes out in a trickle and that was concerning. I was picturing us running a hose from the basement, where the hot water flows like milk and honey, up the upstairs and sitting under a flow of piping hot water coming out of a green garden hose. True ghetto fashion.  We found out the water is not really an issue so my ulcer is settling once again. Yet one more small issue has popped up in regards to our floors….

I’ve always wanted a painted floor, I’ll start with that, and when we pulled up the nasty, rental looking carpet after we had the keys in hand we noticed the floor has already been painted a dashing brown with speckles of white where they used a spray gun on the walls but failed to drop a throw down on the floor. We decided to paint the floors a fetching stone gray and the finished result was indeed fetching. I LOVE IT!

I’m always waiting for affirmation when people see our floors. I’m funny that way. I want them to drop to their knees into a state of shock and breathlessness when they see the beauty of a painted floor that usually only resides in sites like Dwell or Martha Stewart magazine, so I always ask, “What do you think of the floors?” So far most of the people who have come to see the house aren’t really in line with our specific taste of decor so I get that they wouldn’t be super into how they look. I just don’t want them to think we did this because we had no choice and then feel sorry for us. Again, I’m funny that way. Why care? I know, right? I can just see a couple coming over and saying, “Yeah, looks….nice” then getting in the car after they leave and shooting the pity look at one another, mumbling something about, “Remember the days when we were poor too, honey?” So far no one has lost their breath when beholding our stone, gray wood floors. Gabe came over and I asked what he thought and his reply was, “Um…is that…common?” Ok, fine. You don’t like it either.

The issue with the floors, unfortunately is that the paint is coming up if we scrape something across the floor, like say a bed frame. I was gutted when I saw that dark brown paint underneath a scuff mark. I felt the stomach acid churning inside as our lovely floors started to look ugly again. My first thought was, “What are we going to do? This is just going to get worse after one scrape! It’s going to keep coming up. All of this hard work…” The woman at the store, which woman and store I will refrain from naming, told us what we needed to do to paint a floor and which paint we were to use. No poly necessary. Well, after the floor incident I got online and found out that you indeed need to throw down at least three coats of poly to keep it finished and strong. Curses!

We’re moving our family in tomorrow and the thought of my kids growing a third arm or six nipples due to toxic chemical exposure is frightening indeed so we’re trying to work out how we can finish our floors without causing serious harm to our kids. If it were just myself and Matt I’d say, “Heck, load us up with tumor growing chemicals….it’s just like a night out at Denny’s!” But it’s not just us and I want to be careful of our cherubs and what they inhale. I’m actually getting on Matt’s nerves by how often I toss the comment, “We just need to let the place air out”, into conversation. Dads just don’t get it.

I’m sure it will work out fine with the floors and we’ll be onto our next adventure as we settle into the Hilltop. Tomorrow night is our first night sleeping in our new home. There’s so much more room than we’re use to and it’s fun to let the kids scream indoors again without fear of disturbing the neighbors in our apartment living situation. Hurray for Hilltop, yo!

2 thoughts on “

  1. Oh no what a shame about the floors. What are you going to do? We can’t wait to see the house -Matt said he has some projects for Sam and John to help with! I think the floors look cool, by the way!

    Love this line, fyi: “If it were just myself and Matt I’d say, “Heck, load us up with tumor growing chemicals….it’s just like a night out at Denny’s!” Hilarious!

  2. I love your ghetto shower concept… that made me laugh. And floors…I have always liked the IDEA of painted floors, but had a feeling they would be a bit tricky in reality. I bet it makes it feel very clean and spacious though.
    I have to say, Gabe popping up in your blog is strange. I’m glad we’ll be part of your lives now.

Leave a Reply

