So, what IS your opinion on raising kids?

DSC_0235

This seems to be the age where EVERYONE has an opinion and they all want to blog about it. Wait! What am I doing? Well, everyone but me is highly opinionated and wants to blog about it. Now that I’ve outed myself, here is my opinion:

I have “liked” this group on FB called Free Range Learning and it’s dedicated to homeschooling and unschooling and, for the most part, she posts some good ideas or tips on things to do with your kids. But more often than not she posts these articles about the latest research that links, well, everything she doesn’t believe in to how awful children will turn out if a family uses these practices.

Today the article is how spanking is linked to obesity. Then there is a smattering of comments from women who apparently don’t spank. So here’s my issue: I find sites, groups or movements like crunchy ‘mamas’ (why are they always called mamas?) that are devoted to raising kids in a specific way to be very judgmental and graceless. The main comments on spanking and obesity were, “low income and uneducated families usually spank and will usually have obese kids anyway” (I’m reducing all of the comments into this one sentence, of course). And this is the kind of BS that drives me crazy!!!

Moms already feel like they are failing ย and they wonder if they are totally screwing up their kids due to all of the research out there, so why do other moms feel like they need to create sites to make them feel better about how they are raising their kids and shame others for doing it poorly?

Also, this research gives people more proof that “If your kid is fat, it’s likely that you spanked. You really should have nursed more, slept with your kid, wore them on you all the time, never had taken them to McDonald’s, never used a stroller and never circumcised.”

The reason I even read these sites is to find moments where they are celebrating their children and finding ways to encourage other moms rather than post stupid research off THE INTERNET (It’s the internet, people!) Research that has no grounding other than it presents a good argument and articulates a well written debate. Also, posting this “research” presupposes that all of the rage in kids and poor behavior is always linked to parents doing something wrong. Damn! Has your child never acted out in public, done something aggressive or thrown a fit? I thought those moments were sort of normal and even healthy.

I really have nothing against attachment parenting, crunchy parenting or the like. That’s basically how we’ve raised our kids anyway. But I have an issue with parents banning together and forming groups that judge and alienate other parents for doing it wrong. Most moms feel isolated already; feel like we’re doing it on our own and still wonder, almost daily, if our kids are going to grow up to be the next Unabomber.

So, my advice? Well, thank you for asking…..Stay away from those articles. They are ubiquitous on FB and besides, that research is more likely founded by a college undergrad who doesn’t have children anyway so they don’t know what the hell they’re talking about. I’m sure that 90% of parenting is intuitive. Find a book or see a counselor or take a class to get some tools to get you over a hump. But if you’re paying attention, and most of us are, the answers will come.

It’s not even the articles that bother me so much. It’s all of the self-righteous comments that people leave after the article that really irritate me. I read a crunchy mamas site that started the circumcision debate and one women’s chime-in was, “I saw a boy flipping out at the store the other day and I knew that all the rage was because his mom likely circumcised him”. Oh barf! Get over your totally awesome and perfect parenting-self, mama! Embrace your fellow moms, even those who spank and sit at the park together, under the trees, and watch your kids play. They need a break from you too.

Here’s to raising kids and embracing all of our imperfections while doing it….sometimes doing it poorly!

DSC_0063

6 thoughts on “So, what IS your opinion on raising kids?

  1. Excellent post. I get a little preachy about keeping my kids out of cars (and yes, preferably on bikes,) but for the most part you have to just let it all go. I was raised on McDonalds, WalMart and HFCS ketchup and I think I turned out OK.

    If you don’t already have your blog linked up with FeedTacoma.com, I would recommend it. I think more local parents could appreciate YOUR opinion. Cheers!

    • Nice. Thanks, Matt. I’ll look into FeedTacoma. I still tend to get a bit shy about having a load of people reading my thoughts but maybe I’ll just have to take that plunge.

  2. Really good post. I try not to let the judging thoughts go through my mind, trying hard to remind myself, been there done that! It’s gets really challenging when, out in public, I see parents do absolutely nothing when obviously something should be addressed. John and I just look at each other, feel sorry for the parent of an acting out child and say ‘phew, we are finished!’ ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Thank you so much for sharing this awesome post! You are absolutely right on this. We all know that being a mom is hard so why make it more difficult by attacking them? There are just some people who enjoy pulling others down. It gets under you skin sometimes so better stay away from them. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I hear you. Not that I’ve never done this. I just think I’m reaching a place with kids were I really feel for moms that are tired and we’re all just doing the best we can. Thanks for the comments.

  4. Pingback: How to Steal Time to Write (and an update on my new book) | Tonya Joyner Speaks

Leave a Reply

